Navigation area


Research
coins on a scale

Research Funding

Who provides funding and how, where do applications have to be submitted - these are important questions regarding research funding. This page provides the answers.
The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supports innovative projects and ideas in research through targeted funding programmes.

Why fund research?

Research and development together with the latest production processes are the basis for the new technological developments of tomorrow. Research funding has the goal of financing the development of new ideas and technologies. Funding is provided for projects in a wide spectrum of research areas. The range covers everything from basic research in natural sciences, environmentally friendly sustainable development, new technologies, information and communication technologies, the life sciences, work design, structural research funding at institutions of higher education to innovation support and technology transfer.

EU-wide standardized regulations play a decisive role in the basic conditions of research funding. These regulations apply to, for example, definitions for research institutions and businesses, the criteria for what can be considered small and medium enterprises, or what relation between funding and equity capital is permissible with funded businesses.

Decisions for or against funding are always based on the clarification of points such as:

  • Degree of innovation: how innovative is a project from a scientific or technical perspective?
  • Utilization: how can the prospects of success be assessed? With technological developments, is there a utilization strategy?
  • Avoidance of double funding: has funding already been provided for the project idea?
Research funding supports scientific institutions and enterprises. Individual funding is thereby expressly excluded. The BMBF funds individual researchers via special funding institutions. An overview of the possibilities of such funding is available here.

Three steps can provide orientation in research funding:

  1. Overview of the thematic focuses
  2. Funded projects
  3. Access to forms and addresses

The Federal “Research and Innovation” Funding Advisory Service offers information and advice on all current funding measures free of charge.

Project Lump Sum

The Federal Government intends to structurally and lastingly strengthen the performance and competitiveness of Germany’s institutions of higher education through the introduction of a project lump sum for these institutions as part of the direct project funding from section 30.

As of the 2011 budgetary year, the BMBF grants a project lump sum in the amount of 10 per cent of the contributions from its specialized programmes as part of the direct project funding for institutions of higher education. As of 2012, this lump sum increased from 10 per cent to 20 per cent for new allocations. The project lump sums support the financing of project expenditures arising indirectly from the individual research projects.

Click here for a list of answers to frequently asked questions regarding project lump sums (in German only).

General or thematically specific funding information

Research funding is generally based on research fields. The goals of funding are stipulated by research programmes. There is however a series of crosscutting, interdisciplinary measures. Thematic orientation is provided by the funding priorities of the BMBF and the funding regulations of the individual areas.

Who funds what and how, where to send an application? These are important questions in research funding. The following pages provide information on what funding regulations there are, which calls for proposals are currently issued, and where information on each research area can be found.

  • Ministry

    Current Calls for Proposals

    Issued by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
     read more: Current Calls for Proposals
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/677.php)
  • Research

    Funding Information: New Technologies

    The project funding of the Federal Government in the field of new technologies supports projects in the following areas: Information and communication technologies, materials innovation and nanotechnology, optical technologies as well as production and manufacturing technologies.
     read more: Funding Information: New Technologies
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/5717.php)
  • Research

    Funding Information: Life Sciences

    Research funding in the life sciences is provided under the framework programme "Biotechnology - Using and Shaping its Opportunities", the programme "Health Research - Research for People" as well as by means of the institutional funding of non-university research institutions. The BMBF supports scientific research projects on the ethical, legal and economic aspects of health research and bioscientific research as well as activities in the field of innovative work structure and services.
     read more: Funding Information: Life Sciences
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/5718.php)
  • Research

    Funding Information: Basic Scientific Research

    Supporting basic research is primarily a task of the German Länder. Institutions and projects of scientific research with supraregional importance are co-funded by the Federal and Länder governments. Many of the DFG's programmes enable funding recipients to apply for equipment grants provided that the project proposal specifies the need for such instrumentation. This programme is supported by the Federal Government with an annual budget of 85 million euros.
     read more: Funding Information: Basic Scientific Research
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/5719.php)
  • Research

    Funding Information: Research for Sustainability

    The Federal Government has defined clear objectives for its sustainability strategy. The Federal project funding is carried out prior in the frame of the programmes "Research for Sustainability" (BMBF), energy research "Innovation and New Technologies"(BMWi, BMU, BMBF) and "Renewable Resources" (BMELV).
     read more: Funding Information: Research for Sustainability
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/5721.php)

What is the current state of research? Which projects already receive funding?


All BMBF-funded projects, their findings in the form of a final report, and often findings published by the projects themselves are available online. Here you can find out how to access this information.

What about the paperwork? Why not try “EASY”?


Awarding research grants is not possible without forms. Here you can find information on which forms you need, where you can find them, and how the electronic application process works.

Additional information

Deutsche Version dieser Seite
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/1398.php)

Publications

  • Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes ID = 979

    cover of this publication

    Wegweiser zur Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung

    2014, 6 pages
    Order No: 29878

    Order free of charge

    Download [PDF - 274,9 kB] (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/pub/Foerderberatung2014.pdf)

Here you can find all shippable publications.
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/publications/)

Hotlines

  • Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

    • Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes
    • Zimmerstraße 26-27
    • 10969 Berlin
    • Telefonnummer: 0800 - 2623008
    • E-Mail-Adresse: beratung@foerderinfo.bund.de
    • Homepage: http://www.foerderinfo.bund.de
 

© 10/31/2014 18:11 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Navigationsbereich


Forschung
Münzen auf der Waage

Förderung in der Forschung

Wer fördert was und wie, wo sind Anträge zu stellen - das sind die wichtigen Fragen zur Forschungsförderung. Antworten darauf gibt es hier.

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung unterstützt innovative Projekte und Ideen in der Forschung durch gezielte Förderprogramme.

Wozu Forschungsförderung?

Forschung und Entwicklung sind zusammen mit neuesten Produktionsverfahren die Grundlage für neue technologische Entwicklungen für morgen. Die Forschungsförderung hat zum Ziel, die Entwicklung neuer Ideen und Technologien zu finanzieren. Fördergelder gibt es für Vorhaben in einem breiten Forschungsspektrum. Es  reicht von der Naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung, umweltgerechter nachhaltiger Entwicklung, Neuen Technologien, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Lebenswissenschaften, Arbeitsgestaltung; Struktureller Forschungsförderung an Hochschulen bis Innovationsförderung und Technologietransfer.

Maßgeblich für die Rahmenbedingungen der Forschungsförderung sind Regelungen, die EU-weit einheitlich gelten. Geregelt sind darin unter anderem Definitionen für Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen, die Frage, was die Maßstäbe für kleine und mittelgroße Unternehmen sind, oder welches Verhältnis zulässig ist zwischen Fördermitteln und Eigenmitteln bei geförderten Unternehmen.

Die Entscheidung für oder gegen eine Förderung beruht immer auf der Klärung unter anderem dieser Fragen:

  • Innovationsgrad: Wie innovativ ist ein Vorhaben aus wissenschaftlicher oder technischer Sicht?
  • Verwertung: Wie sind die Erfolgsaussichten zu bewerten, gibt es bei technologischen Entwicklungen ein Verwertungskonzept? 
  • Vermeidung von Doppelförderung: Wird oder wurde die Idee des Vorhabens bereits gefördert?

Die Forschungsförderung unterstützt wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen und Unternehmen. Die Förderung von Einzelpersonen ist dabei ausdrücklich ausgeschlossen. Einzelne Forscherinnen und Forscher fördert das BMBF über spezielle Fördereinrichtungen. Einen Überblick über diese Fördermöglichkeiten erhalten Sie [hier].  

Zur Orientierung bei der Forschungsförderung helfen drei Schritte:

  1. Übersicht über thematische Schwerpunkte,
  2. geförderte Vorhaben und
  3. Zugriff auf Formulare und Adressen.

Die Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes bietet unentgeltlich Informationen und Beratung zu allen aktuellen Fördermaßnahmen.

Projektpauschale

Die Bundesregierung beabsichtigt, die Leistungsfähigkeit und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Hochschulen durch die Einführung einer Projektpauschale für Hochschulen im Rahmen der direkten Projektförderung aus dem Einzelplan 30 dauerhaft strukturell zu stärken.

Das BMBF gewährte ab dem Haushaltsjahr 2011 im Rahmen der direkten Projektförderung an Hochschulen aus seinen Fachprogrammen eine Projektpauschale in Höhe von 10% der Zuwendungen. 2012 erhöhte sich diese Projektpauschale bei Neubewilligungen von 10% auf 20%. Die Projektpauschale unterstützt die Finanzierung der durch das jeweilige Forschungsprojekt verursachten indirekten Projektausgaben.

Was ist der wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisstand, was wird bereits gefördert?

Alle geförderten Vorhaben des BMBF, ihre Ergebnisse - in Form von Abschlußberichten - und viele der daraus von den Projekten im Internet veröffentlichten Ergebnisse sind online abrufbar. Wie der Zugriff auf alle Informationen funktioniert, erfahren Sie hier.

  • Förderberatung des Bundes

    Hightech-Strategie

    Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes

    Die Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes beim Projektträger Jülich wendet sich mit ihren Informations- und Beratungsangeboten insbesondere an Interessierte, die sich mit Fördermöglichkeiten des Bundes genauer vertraut machen wollen. Spezielle Zielgruppe sind neben Forschungseinrichtungen, Hochschulen und Industrie kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Beratung zu allen Fragen der Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung des Bundes. Es werden Informationen über die Forschungsprogramme und die Verfahrenswege zur Erlangung von Fördermitteln angeboten sowie Kontakte zu den für die Fördermaßnahmen zuständigen Projektträgern vermittelt.
     weiterlesen: Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/5645.php)
  • Wissenschaftlerin schaut in Mikroskop

    Ministerium

    Forschung transparent: Recherchen nach Forschern und Vorhaben

    In den öffentlich zugänglichen Datenbanken des BMBF sind die Daten von mehr als 110.000 Forschungsvorhaben erfasst. Das ist die umfangreichste Quelle, um in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft danach zu recherchieren, woran in den Labors mit öffentlichen Geldern geforscht wird, wer zu welchen Themen forscht oder in jüngster Zeit geforscht hat und, zu welchen Ergebnissen diese Vorhaben geführt haben.
     weiterlesen: Forschung transparent: Recherchen nach Forschern und Vorhaben
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/2762.php)
  • Vermessung einer Fläche

    Wissenschaft

    Forschung in Deutschland - Forschungslandkarten

    Wo findet Forschung in Deutschland statt? Welche regionalen Cluster gibt es? Welche Querbezüge lassen sich erkennen? Um Fragen wie diese beantworten zu können, entwickelt das BMBF seine Forschungslandkarten weiter.
     weiterlesen: Forschung in Deutschland - Forschungslandkarten
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/5355.php)

Förderinformationen allgemein oder thematisch detailliert

Forschungsförderung ist zumeist an Forschungsgebieten orientiert. Die Ziele der Förderung sind in Forschungsprogrammen niedergelegt. Zugleich gibt es aber eine Reihe von Querschnittsmaßnahmen, die themenübergreifend aufgebaut sind. Thematische Orientierung geben die Förderschwerpunkte des BMBF und die Förderbekanntmachungen der einzelnen Bereiche.

Wer fördert was und wie, wo sind Anträge zu stellen - das sind die wichtigen Fragen zur Forschungsförderung. Welche Förderlinien es gibt, welche Ausschreibungen laufen und wo es Informationen zu jedem Förderbereich gibt, ist auf den folgenden Seiten zusammengestellt.

Wie funktioniert der Formularkram? Warum nicht "easy"?

Die Vergabe von Finanzmitteln geht nicht ohne Formalia. Welche zu beachten sind, welche Formulare es gibt und wie das elektronische Antragsverfahren funktioniert, ist hier zusammengestellt. 

  • Ministerium

    easy - Das Antrags- / Angebotsverfahren

    Das elektronische Antragssystem easy ist eine kostenlose Software für Windows- und Linux-Systeme, mit deren Hilfe man die Formulare für die Beantragung von Fördermitteln des Bundes am PC ausfüllen und ausdrucken kann. Dazu gehören auch die Berechnung der gesamten Finanzierung sowie umfangreiche Plausibilitäts- und Vollständigkeitsprüfungen. Gleichzeitig werden alle Antragsdaten in elektronischer Form erzeugt, so dass die fördernde Behörde die Daten direkt in das verwaltungsinterne System profi übernehmen kann.
     weiterlesen: easy - Das Antrags- / Angebotsverfahren
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/6655.php)
  • Ministerium

    Der BMBF-Formularschrank

    Im BMBF-Formularschrank finden Sie weitere Informationen, wie Merkblätter, Hinweise und Nebenbestimmungen
     weiterlesen: Der BMBF-Formularschrank
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/6656.php)
  • Ministerium

    Förderdatenbank

    Die Förderdatenbank des Bundes beim BMWi gibt einen aktuellen Überblick über Förderprogramme des Bundes, der Länder und der EU für die gewerbliche Wirtschaft. Sie enthält die vollständigen Richtlinientexte sowie zusätzliche, vertiefende Informationen.
     weiterlesen: Förderdatenbank
    (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/6657.php)

Zusatzinformationen

English version of this page
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/1398.php)

Publikationen

Hier finden Sie die lieferbaren Materialien.
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/publikationen/)

Ansprechpartner

  • Förderberatung "Forschung und Innovation" des Bundes

    • Projektträger Jülich, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
    • Zimmerstr. 26-27
    • 10969 Berlin
    • E-Mail-Adresse: beratung@foerderinfo.bund.de
    • Homepage: http://www.foerderinfo.bund.de
 

© 2014 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung