Navigation area


Ministry
Israeli and German flags

Built on Trust: German-Israeli Cooperation in Science and Research

Scientific cooperation plays a special role in German-Israeli relations - it helped pave the way toward diplomatic relations between the two countries and, with its diversity and vitality, it has become a important pillar of the cooperation between the two states. Comprehensive networks are active at the bilateral level; professional cooperation also extends to the EU's Framework Research Programmes, to which Israel has belonged since 1996.

Scientific and research cooperation strengthened: German-Israeli Intergovernmental Consultations 2014

During the fifth German-Israeli intergovernmental consultations, Federal Minister Johanna Wanka met with her Israeli counterpart Yaakov Perry, the Minister of Science, Technology and Space, in Jerusalem on 25 February 2014. Their discussions focussed on the successful cooperation in research between the two ministries and the planning of joint projects to celebrate 50 years of diplomatic relations with Israel in 2015. The Ministers underlined the significance of the existing cooperation in research and development as important cornerstones of the bilateral relations between the two countries. The anniversary year will provide the context for excellent bilateral research initiatives. The decision was taken to expand the long-standing cooperation on cancer research. The Ministers signed a joint declaration on this and on other topics.

Enhanced cooperation on industry-relevant research and development was agreed with the Israeli Minister of the Economy, Naftali Bennett. A joint call for proposals is to be published in the fields of civil security research and IT security. The signing of a joint declaration underlined the importance of the cooperation in these areas as well as in vocational education and training. New fields of cooperation were also initiated in talks between Minister Wanka and Israel's Minister of Education, Rabbi Shai Piron. The ministers signed a declaration in the area of "educational technology".

Political framework for scientific and technological cooperation

The pillars of German-Israeli cooperation are the Minerva Foundation, the interministerial research cooperation between the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and Israel's Ministry of Science, Technology and Space (MOST) and Ministry of Economy, the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF), the German-Israeli Project Cooperation (DIP), and the Martin Buber Society of Fellows in the Humanities.

The establishment of the Minerva-Stiftung more than 50 years ago marked the beginning of scientific cooperation between Germany and Israel. Bilateral research projects have been supported for many years under relevant programmes of the BMBF and Israel's Ministry of Science, Technology and Space (MOST) (since 1973) and Ministry of Economy (since 2000) within the framework of interministerial cooperation with the two Israeli ministries. Former ministers Annette Schavan and her Israeli counterpart Shalom Simhon signed an intergovernmental agreement on cooperation in private sector industrial research and development and initial and continuing vocational training on 19 June 2011. The agreement strengthens cooperation between the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Israeli Ministry of Economy and put it on a new footing. The agreement provided the basis to establish the Joint Committee for Industrial Research and Development, which first met on 4 July 2012.

The winners of the call for proposals for the new Minerva research centres were presented during the German-Israeli Science Festival at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem on 16 and 17 November 2012. One of the winners was Professor Oded Aharonson of the Weizmann Institute of Science and his team for the topic "The emergence and evolution of early life under extreme planetary conditions". The other successful topic was the "Study of the Rule of Law under Extreme conditions": In its research, the new Minerva Center focusses on the topic of basic democratic values and plans to investigate the question of how robust the law is under extreme conditions. Professor Eli Salzberger of the University of Haifa and his team, together with research colleagues from the University of Hamburg, will carry out comparative research into the provisions contained in codified law for use in times of crisis. At the same time, they will also perform empirical studies of how such provisions are actually implemented in situations of crisis and upheaval.

The Minerva-Stiftung GmbH is a subsidiary of the Max Planck Society and promotes German-Israeli cooperation in science and research. It has established Minerva Centers at Israeli universities and the Weizmann Institute where German and Israeli scientists and scholars cooperate in all the academic disciplines. There are currently 27 such centres. The Minerva Foundation also funds scientific symposiums and projects at the Weizmann Institute and awards fellowships to scientists and scholars from both countries. It also provides funding for research symposiums and Minerva Schools. The Minerva Foundation administers the ARCHES award ("Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence"), which has been presented by the BMBF every year since 2008. On 15 June 2011, the then Federal Minister Annette Schavan opened the new "Minerva Center for Interdisciplinary Studies of the End of Life" at the University of Tel Aviv.

A further key element of cooperation is the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF), which was established in 1986. The BMBF has been supporting larger interdisciplinary German-Israeli projects as part of German-Israeli Project Cooperation (DIP). Since 1996, more than 50 cutting-edge projects from every subject area have received funding. The Martin Buber Society of Fellows in the Humanities was established in late 2009. The first fellows started research work at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in September 2010.

In an effort to advance the peace process in the Middle East, the BMBF is also involved in multilateral collaborative projects with Israel and its Arab neighbours, mainly in the fields of marine research, environmental technologies and water technologies.

Current priorities of cooperation

Interministerial cooperation

Interministerial cooperation between the BMBF and the Israeli Ministry of Science, Technology and Space (MOST) and the Ministry of Economy today focuses on scientific and technological fields such as the marine and geosciences, biotechnology, environmental research, materials research and nanoscience, information and communications technology, cancer research, and water technologies. Civil security research was added as a new field of cooperation in 2009. The funding of German-Israeli collaborative projects between science and industry in recent years has focused on application-oriented, industry-related research. Since 2011, the basis of this has been the intergovernmental agreement on cooperation in private sector industrial research and development and initial and continuing vocational training. A declaration of intent on collaboration in battery research and electrochemistry was signed during the intergovernmental consultations held in 2012. Planned measures include the establishment of summer and winter schools to interest young scientists from both countries in this field of research.

German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF)

In its regular funding programme, the GIF supports approximately 30 civilian German-Israeli research projects each year in all the scientific disciplines (natural sciences, life sciences, medicine, the social sciences, and also the humanities). So far the foundation has approved over 1,000 bilateral projects from across all disciplines. Funding is provided for periods of three years. Under the "Young Scientists" Programme, the foundation also supports young German and Israeli scientists and scholars aged up to 40 and within seven years of obtaining their doctorates who want to present their research activities in Israel or in Germany. The endowment capital provided for the GIF by the BMBF and the MOST currently amounts to 211 million euros.

German-Israeli project funding programme (DIP)

The DIP is mainly aimed at teams of researchers who cooperate in innovative areas. The priority areas are physics, life sciences, and chemistry. Application consists of a two-step procedure which is administered by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). Only the six Israeli universities and the Weizmann Institute are eligible for funding. Each institution can submit two proposals for joint research projects by 31 March of each year. Cooperation partners on the German side may be researchers who work in the German science system. Three or four projects are selected for funding each year. Over 50 projects have received funding from the BMBF since 1996.

Martin Buber Society of Fellows in the Humanities

The Martin Buber Society of Fellows in the Humanities was established in 2009. It is a foundation under civil law for which the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has made available €20 million. The purpose of the Foundation is to foster the interdisciplinary and intercultural academic dialogue between outstanding young researchers in all fields of the humanities and social sciences (with the exception of law and economics) from Germany and Israel. Each year, up to ten young researchers are chosen to receive such support (five from Germany and five from Israel). The first German and Israeli fellows started their research at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in the 2010/11 academic year. Each year up to 2020, ten young researchers from all the humanities and social science disciplines will be funded as well as several one-year fellowships for doctoral students. At the start of 2014, 29 fellows were working on research at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

German-Israeli programme in vocational training

The aim of the German-Israeli Cooperation Programme in Vocational Education and Training is to develop vocational training in both countries. For more than 40 years, this programme has been giving vocational training experts from both countries the opportunity to exchange experience as well as to develop innovative approaches and put them to the test in their practical work. In 2012 this was expanded to include trainees. Jointly developed teaching materials for training in the automotive and IT sectors as well as in microsystems technology are used in both countries. This enables the vocational education and training sector to respond to new technological, economic and demographic challenges. In July 2012 the then Israeli Minister of Industry, Trade and Labour, Shalom Simhon, visited Germany to learn about its dual system of vocational education and training as part of preparations to reform Israel's vocational training legislation.

Highlights of bilateral cooperation

ARCHES (Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence in Science)

Since 2008, the BMBF has presented the ARCHES award to Israeli-German teams of young researchers on an annual basis, rotating between the natural and engineering sciences, the life sciences, and the humanities and cultural sciences. The total amount awarded each year is €400,000, each team receiving €200,000. The nomination and selection procedure is administered by the Minerva Foundation.

German-Israeli Year of Science and Technology


Former Minister Annette Schavan and her Israeli counterpart Galeb Majadle declared 2008 the "German-Israeli Year of Science and Technology" and officially opened it in Berlin on 8 April of that year. The aim of the Year was to draw attention to the diversity and excellence of German-Israeli bilateral science cooperation and to raise awareness in Israel of Germany's attractiveness as a research location.

Special activities of funding and intermediary organizations


German funding and intermediary organizations are involved in numerous activities with Israel. The most important of these are listed below. Further information is available on the BMBF-funded information platform www.kooperation-international.de.

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

The DAAD awarded the first one-year scholarship to an Israeli in 1960. In the meantime, the DAAD has become one of the most important promoters of exchanges of students and researchers between the two countries. The funding offered to Israelis mainly includes research scholarships for doctoral students and young researchers, grants for research periods, and funding for participation in summer schools and summer language courses. In addition, the DAAD offers study tours and scholarships for German students, graduates and post-docs as well as studies in Israel for German researchers, and it helps arrange teaching assignments for German language instructors and guest lecturers. Currently, the DAAD is establishing an alumni system in Israel in order to support lasting contact with the German science system. In 2012 the DAAD provided 367 Germans with a scholarship for Israel and 215 Israelis with a scholarship for Germany.

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH)

Through the award of Humboldt Research Fellowships, the Humboldt Foundation has already enabled numerous researchers from Israel to spend longer periods conducting research in Germany. Young German researchers on the other hand can apply for Feodor Lynen Research Fellowships, which enable them to spend longer research periods in Israel. Furthermore, the Humboldt Foundation administers the Bert-Sakmann-Stiftung, which was established by the German Nobel Prize winner in medicine, Bert Sakmann. Its funds are used to support a series of lectures held by young German and Israeli researchers in the partner country.

Under its Frontiers of Research programme, the Humboldt Foundation has been holding the German-Israeli Frontiers of Humanities symposiums since 2009. The interdisciplinary meetings for young Israeli and German humanities scholars are organized once a year together with the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities and are hosted alternately by Germany and Israel. The fifth symposium was held in Kibbutz Tzuba, Israel, in October 2013.

The Humboldt Foundation provides financial support for initiatives of Humboldt associations and individual Humboldtians to organise what are known as Humboldt Kolleg conferences in order to strengthen regional and disciplinary networking.

Max Planck Society

In 1959, the first contacts between researchers of the Max Planck Society (MPG) and researchers of the Weizmann Institute of Science laid the foundation for close cooperation between the two institutions which has lasted to the present day. Under joint research initiatives, the Max Planck institutes and researchers of the Weizmann Institute establish networks and provide joint training for young researchers; an example of this is the collaboration between the International Max Planck Research Schools (IMPRS) and the Feinberg Graduate School at the Weizmann Institute.
The MPG also maintains relations with the six universities in Israel via its institutes. Cooperation with the Hebrew University of Jerusalem is an outstanding example of multidisciplinary relations. The most recent collaboration is on the Max Planck-Hebrew University Center for Sensory Processing of the Brain in Action which was established in 2013. The close scientific relations have also resulted in joint projects which receive European funding. The Max Planck institutes also use the funding possibilities of the GIF and DIP very successfully. In addition, the Max Planck Society is the sole shareholder of the Minerva Stiftung GmbH.

 

 

Additional information

Deutsche Version dieser Seite
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/1531.php)

Speeches

  • 14.11.2011

    Opening of the exhibition Jewish Mathematics in German Speaking Academic Culture in Tel Aviv

    Welcome Address by the State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Cornelia Quennet-Thielen at the opening of the exhibition Jewish Mathematics in German Speaking Academic Culture in Tel Aviv on 14 November 2011

    Download

    [PDF - 53,3 kB]  barrier-free

    [URL: /pub/reden/stqtr_20111114.pdf]

Publications

  • Germany - Israel ID = 565

    cover of this publication

    Science and Technology, Education and Research

    2012, 84 pages
    Order No: 29989

    Order free of charge

    Download [PDF - 3,35 MB] (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/pub/cooperation_ste_germany-israel.pdf)

  • Cooperation Germany-Israel ID = 612

    cover of this publication

    in Science, Technology and Industrial R&D MOITAL - BMBF - MOST

    2005,

    Download [PDF - 527,7 kB] (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/pub/flyer_cooperation_germany_israel.pdf)

Here you can find all shippable publications.
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/publications/)

Contact Persons

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) - PT Internationales Büro

    • Deutsch-Israelische Kooperationsprogramme: BMBF-MOST
    • Dr. Birgit Ditgens
    • Heinrich-Konen-Straße 1
    • 53227 Bonn
    • Telefonnummer: +49 228 3821-1459
    • Faxnummer: +49 228 3821-1444
    • E-Mail-Adresse: birgit.ditgens@dlr.de
    • Homepage: http://www.internationales-buero.de
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) - PT Internationales Büro

    • Israel
    • Robert Haupt
    • Heinrich-Konen-Straße 1
    • 53227 Bonn
    • Telefonnummer: 0228/ 3821-1546
    • Faxnummer: 0228/ 3821-1400
    • E-Mail-Adresse: Robert.Haupt@dlr.de
    • Homepage: http://www.internationales-buero.de
  • Pressereferat des BMBF

    • Hannoversche Straße 28-30
    • 10115 Berlin
    • Telefonnummer: 030 / 1857 - 5050
    • Faxnummer: 030 / 1857 - 5551
    • E-Mail-Adresse: presse@bmbf.bund.de
 

© 04/24/2014 05:04 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Navigationsbereich


Ministerium
Die israelische und die deutsche Flagge

Deutsch-Israelische Wissenschaftskooperation

In den deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen nimmt die Wissenschaftskooperation eine besondere Rolle ein - sie war Wegbereiterin der diplomatischen Beziehungen beider Länder. Mit ihrer Vielfalt und Lebendigkeit ist sie eine politisch bedeutende Säule der Zusammenarbeit beider Staaten. Ein umfassendes Netzwerk ist auf bilateraler Ebene aktiv; die fachliche Zusammenarbeit erstreckt sich auch auf die Forschungsprogramme der EU, denen Israel seit 1996 angehört.

Gestärkte Wissenschaftskooperationen: Die Deutsch-Israelischen Regierungskonsultationen 2014

Aus Anlass der fünften Deutsch-Israelischen Regierungskonsultationen kamen Bundesministerin Johanna Wanka und ihr israelischer Amtskollege Yaakov Perry, Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Weltraum, am 25. Februar 2014 in Jerusalem zu Gesprächen zusammen. Im Mittelpunkt standen die erfolgreiche interministerielle Forschungskooperation und die Konzeption gemeinsamer Vorhaben im Rahmen des Jubiläumsjahres "50 Jahre diplomatische Beziehungen mit Israel". Die Minister betonten und würdigten die Bedeutung der Kooperation in Forschung und Entwicklung als wichtigen Pfeiler der bilateralen Beziehungen. Das Jubiläumsjahr wird den Rahmen für exzellente bilaterale Forschungsinitiativen darstellen. Es wurde beschlossen, die langjährige Kooperation in der Krebsforschung auszubauen. Hierzu, sowie zu anderen Themen, wurde eine gemeinsame Erklärung unterzeichnet. 

Mit dem israelischen Wirtschaftsminister Naftali Bennett wurde die verstärkte  Zusammenarbeit in der industrienahen Forschung und Entwicklung verabredet. In der zivilen Sicherheitsforschung und der IT-Sicherheit soll eine gemeinsame Bekanntmachung veröffentlicht werden. Die Kooperation in diesen Bereichen sowie in der beruflichen Bildung wurde durch die Unterzeichnung einer gemeinsamen Erklärung hervorgehoben. Neue Kooperationsfelder wurden außerdem in einem Gespräch von Bundesministerin Wanka mit dem israelischen Bildungsminister Rabbi Shay Piron erschlossen. Die Minister unterzeichneten eine Erklärung im Bereich "Educational Technology". 

Politischer Rahmen der wissenschaftlich-technologischen Zusammenarbeit

Eckpfeiler der Zusammenarbeit sind die Minerva Stiftung, die interministerielle Forschungskooperation zwischen dem BMBF und den israelischen Ministerien für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Weltraum (MOST) und für Wirtschaft (Ministry of Economy), die Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF) und die Deutsch-Israelische Projektkooperation (DIP) sowie der Stiftungsfonds Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft.

Die Minerva Stiftung Gesellschaft für die Forschung mbH besteht seit über 50 Jahren und markiert den Beginn der wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit mit Israel. Seit 1973 werden im Rahmen der interministeriellen Kooperation mit dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Weltraum (MOST) und seit 2000 mit dem Ministerium für Wirtschaft bilaterale Forschungsvorhaben im Rahmen von Fachprogrammen des BMBF, des MOST und des Wirtschaftsministeriums gefördert. Am 19. Juni 2011 unterzeichnete die damalige Bundesministerin Annette Schavan gemeinsam mit ihrem Amtskollegen Industrieminister Shalom Simhon ein Regierungsabkommen zur Zusammenarbeit in industriegeführter Forschung und Entwicklung sowie im Bereich der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung. Das Abkommen stärkt die Kooperation zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und dem Ministerium für Wirtschaft und stellt sie auf eine neue Grundlage. Auf Basis dieses Abkommens wurde das Joint Committee for Industrial Research and Development errichtet, welches am 4. Juli 2012 erstmals stattfand.

Im Rahmen des Minerva German-Israeli Science Festivals an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem am 16. und 17. November 2012 wurden die Gewinner der Ausschreibung für die neuen Minerva-Forschungszentren vorgestellt. Ausgewählt wurden Professor Oded Aharonson vom Weizmann Institute of Science und sein Team mit dem Thema "The emergence and evolution of early life unter extreme planetary conditions". Das andere erfolgreiche Thema ist "Study of the Rule of Law under Extreme conditions". Das Forschungsanliegen des neuen Minerva Zentrums stellt demokratischer Grundwerte in den Mittelpunkt und will der Frage nachgehen, wie belastbar das Recht unter extremen Bedingungen ist. Professor Eli Salzberger von der Universität Haifa und sein Team sowie Forscherkollegen von der Universität Hamburg werden ländervergleichend untersuchen, welche Regulierungen das kodifizierte Recht in Krisenzeiten vorsieht: Gleichzeitig wird aber auch empirisch analysiert, wie sich die tatsächliche Umsetzung in Krisen- und Umbruchsituationen darstellt.

Die Minerva-Stiftung GmbH ist eine Tochtergesellschaft der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und fördert die deutsch-israelische Wissenschaftszusammenarbeit. Sie hat an den israelischen Universitäten und am Weizmann-Institut Minerva-Zentren eingerichtet, an denen deutsche und israelische Wissenschaftler in allen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen zusammenarbeiten, derzeit sind es 27 Zentren. Darüber hinaus fördert die Minerva-Stiftung wissenschaftliche Symposien und Projekte am Weizmann-Institut und vergibt Stipendien an Wissenschaftler aus beiden Ländern. Ferner fördert sie Forschungssymposien und Minerva-Schools. Die Minerva Stiftung administriert den ARCHES-Preis ("Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence"), den das BMBF seit 2008 jährlich vergibt. Im Juni 2011 hat Bundesministerin Annette Schavan am 15. Juni 2011 an der Universität Tel Aviv das neue "Minerva Center on End of Life" eröffnet.

Weiteres Kernstück der Zusammenarbeit ist die 1986 gegründete Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF). Im Rahmen der Deutsch-Israelischen Projektkooperation (DIP) unterstützt BMBF disziplinübergreifende größere deutsch-israelische Projekte. Seit 1996 wurden mehr als 50 Spitzenprojekte aus allen Fachbereichen gefördert. Der Stiftungsfonds Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft der Forschungsstipendiaten in den Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften wurde Ende 2009 gegründet. Erste Stipendiaten haben im September 2010 ihre Arbeit an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem aufgenommen.

Aktuelle Hinweise in Bezug auf bilaterale Vorhaben in Bildung und Forschung finden Sie hier.

Auch um den Friedensprozess im Nahen Osten zu fördern, beteiligt sich BMBF an multilateralen Kooperationsprojekten mit Israel und seinen arabischen Nachbarn, vorwiegend in den Bereichen Meeresforschung und Umwelt- und Wassertechnologien.
 

Aktuelle Schwerpunkte der Kooperation

Interministerielle Kooperation zwischen BMBF und MOST/MOITAL

Die Schwerpunkte der interministeriellen Kooperation zwischen dem BMBF und dem Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Weltraum (MOST) bzw. dem Ministerium für Wirtschaft liegen heute in naturwissenschaftlichen-technischen Bereichen, wie in den Meeres- und Geowissenschaften, der Biotechnologie, der Umweltforschung, der Material- und Nanoforschung, der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie, der Krebsforschung sowie den Wassertechnologien. 2009 wurde die zivile Sicherheitsforschung in die Zusammenarbeit aufgenommen. Die Förderung deutsch-israelischer Verbundprojekte von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft setzt seit einigen Jahren einen Akzent auf anwendungsorientierte industrienahe Forschung. Grundlage ist seit 2011 das Regierungsabkommen zur Zusammenarbeit in industriegeführter Forschung und Entwicklung sowie im Bereich der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung. Anlässlich der Regierungskonsultationen 2012 wurde eine Absichtserklärung zur Zusammenarbeit in der Batterieforschung und Elektrochemie unterzeichnet. Zu den geplanten Maßnahmen gehört die Ausrichtung von Sommer- und Winterschulen, um junge Wissenschaftler aus beiden Ländern für diesen Forschungsbereich zu interessieren. 

Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für Wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (German-Israeli-Foundation, GIF)

GIF fördert in ihrem Regulären Programm ca. 30 zivile deutsch-israelische Forschungsprojekte in allen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen (Naturwissenschaften, Lebenswissenschaften, Medizin, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften) pro Jahr. Bisher bewilligte die Stiftung über 1000 bilaterale Projekte aus allen Disziplinen der Wissenschaft. Die Förderungsdauer beträgt drei Jahre.  Im "Young Scientists" Programm fördert die Stiftung zudem junge deutsche und israelische Wissenschaftler im Alter von bis zu 40 Jahren, deren Promotion nicht länger als sieben Jahre zurückliegt und die ihre Forschungsaktivitäten in Israel bzw. Deutschland vorstellen wollen. Das von BMBF und MOST für GIF bereitgestellte Stiftungskapital beträgt derzeit 211 Mio. Euro. 

Deutsch-Israelischen Projektförderprogramm (DIP)

DIP richtet sich in erster Linie an Wissenschaftlerteams, die gemeinsam in innovativen Bereichen zusammenarbeiten. Schwerpunkte liegen in der Physik, den Lebenswissenschaften und der Chemie. Das Antragsverfahren ist zweistufig und wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) betreut. Antragsberechtigt sind ausschließlich die sechs israelischen Universitäten und das Weizmann Institut. Je zwei Vorschläge für gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte können zu einem jährlichen Ausschreibungstermin (31. März) eingereicht werden. Kooperationspartner auf deutscher Seite können Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sein, die im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem tätig sind. Pro Jahr werden drei bis vier Projekte zur Förderung ausgewählt. Seit 1996 wurden aus Mitteln des BMBF über 50 Projekte gefördert.

Stiftungsfonds Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft der Forschungsstipendiaten in den Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften

Der Stiftungsfonds Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft der Forschungsstipendiaten in den Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften (kurz: Stiftungsfonds Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft) wurde 2009 gegründet. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) hat für diese Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts 20 Mio. Euro zur Verfügung gestellt. Ziel der Stiftung ist es, den interdisziplinären und interkulturellen akademischen Dialog zwischen herausragenden jungen Geisteswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern aus Deutschland und Israel aus allen Fachbereichen der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (ausgenommen Jura und Wirtschaftswissenschaften) zu fördern. In jedem Jahr werden bis zu zehn Nachwuchswissenschaftler für die Förderung ausgewählt (fünf aus Deutschland, fünf aus Israel). Mit Beginn des Akademischen Jahres 2010/2011 nahmen die ersten deutschen und israelischen Stipendiaten ihre Forschungstätigkeit an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem auf. Bis 2020 sollen jährlich zehn Nachwuchswissenschaftler aller geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen gefördert sowie mehrere einjährige Doktorandenstipendien gewährt werden. Zu Beginn des Jahres 2014 arbeiteten 29 Stipendiaten an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem.

Deutsch-Israelisches Programm zur Berufsbildung

Das Deutsch-Israelische Programm zur Zusammenarbeit in der Berufsbildung hat die Weiterentwicklung der Berufsbildung in beiden Ländern zum Ziel. Seit mehr als 40 Jahren ermöglicht das Programm Berufsbildungsexperten und seit 2012 auch Auszubildenden aus beiden Ländern, Erfahrungen auszutauschen sowie innovative Ansätze auszuarbeiten und in der Praxis zu erproben. Gemeinsam entwickelte Lehrmaterialien für die Ausbildung u.a. in der Kfz- und IT-Branche sowie in der Mikrosystemtechnik finden in beiden Ländern Anwendung. Damit gelingt es, in der Berufsbildung auf neue technologische, wirtschaftliche und demografische Herausforderungen zu reagieren. Im Juli 2012 besuchte der damalige israelische Minister für Industrie, Handel und Arbeit Shalom Simhon Deutschland, um sich zur Vorbereitung der Reform der israelischen Gesetzgebung in der beruflichen Bildung über das duale Ausbildungssystem zu informieren.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit

ARCHES-Preis (Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence in Science)

Das BMBF vergibt seit 2008 den ARCHES-Preis jährlich wechselnd in den Natur- und Ingenieurswissenschaften, den Lebenswissenschaften sowie den Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften an deutsch-israelische Nachwuchswissenschaftlerteams. Er ist mit 400.000 Euro dotiert; jedes Team erhält 200.000 Euro. Die Betreuung des Ausschreibungs- und Auswahlverfahrens erfolgt durch die Minerva Stiftung GmbH.

Deutsch-Israelisches Wissenschaftsjahr

Das Jahr 2008 wurde von der damaligen Bundesministerin Schavan und ihrem israelischen Amtskollegen Galeb Majadle zum "Deutsch-Israelischen Jahr der Wissenschaft und Technologie" erklärt und am 8. April in Berlin feierlich eröffnet. Ziel des Wissenschaftsjahres war es, die Vielfalt und Exzellenz der bilateralen Wissenschaftskooperation sichtbar zu machen und dem Forschungsstandort Deutschland in Israel eine Öffentlichkeit zu geben.

Besondere Aktivitäten der Förder- und Mittlerorganisationen

Es existieren zahlreiche Aktivitäten der deutschen Förder- und Mittlerorganisationen mit Israel. Im Folgenden werden nur die wichtigsten genannt. Weitere Informationen hierzu sind auf der vom BMBF geförderten Informationsplattform www.kooperation-international.de zu finden.

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD)

Der DAAD hat 1960 das erste Jahresstipendium an einen Israeli vergeben. Seitdem ist der DAAD zu einem der wichtigsten Förderer des Austauschs von Studierenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern zwischen beiden Ländern geworden. Das Stipendienangebot für Israelis konzentriert sich vor allem auf Forschungsstipendien für Doktoranden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler, Forschungsaufenthalte für Wissenschaftler, Stipendien für Sommerkurse sowie, Sommersprachkurse. Außerdem werden Studienreisen, Stipendien für dt. Studierende, Graduierte und Promovierte sowie für deutsche Wissenschaftler Studienaufenthalte in Israel angeboten und Lektorate und Gastdozenturen vermittelt. Derzeit baut der DAAD ein Alumnisystem in Israel auf, um den bleibenden Kontakt zum deutschen Wissenschaftssystem zu unterstützen. Im Jahr 2012 hat der DAAD 367 Deutsche mit einem Stipendium für Israel und 215 Israeli mit einem Stipendium für Deutschland gefördert.

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung (AvH)

Die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung hat bereits zahlreichen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus Israel durch die Vergabe von Humboldt-Forschungsstipendien langfristige Forschungsaufenthalte in Deutschland ermöglicht. Im Gegenzug besteht für deutsche Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler durch das Feodor Lynen-Forschungsstipendium die Möglichkeit, einen langfristigen Forschungsaufenthalt in Israel durchzuführen. Zudem betreut die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung die Bert-Sakmann-Stiftung, die von dem deutschen Medizin-Nobelpreisträger eingerichtet wurde. Sie fördert eine Vorlesungsreihe des deutschen und israelischen wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses im jeweils anderen Land.

Im Rahmen des Frontiers of Research Programms führt die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung seit 2009 die German-Israeli Frontiers of Humanities Symposien durch. Die interdisziplinären Tagungen für junge israelische und deutsche Geisteswissenschaftlerinnen und Geisteswissenschaftler werden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities organisiert und finden einmal jährlich alternierend in Deutschland und in Israel statt. Im Oktober 2013 fand das 5. Symposium in Kibbutz Tzupa, Israel statt.

Zur Stärkung der regionalen und fachlichen Netzwerkbildung der Humboldtianer unterstützt die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung Initiativen von Humboldt-Vereinigungen und einzelnen Humboldtianerinnen und Humboldtianern finanziell bei der Durchführung von sogenannten Humboldt-Kollegs.

Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

Im Jahre 1959 führte die erste Kontaktaufnahme zwischen Wissenschaftlern der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) und dem Weizmann-Institute of Science (WIS) zu einer bis heute andauernden engen Zusammenarbeit der beiden Institutionen. In gemeinsamen Forschungsinitiativen bilden Max-Planck-Institute (MPI) und Wissenschaftler des WIS Netzwerke und bilden gemeinsam Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus, wie z.B. in der Zusammenarbeit der "International Max Planck Research Schools" (IMPRS) und der Feinberg Graduate School am WIS.

Die MPG ist zudem über ihre Institute mit den sechs Universitäten Israels verbunden, die Zusammenarbeit mit der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem ist dabei herausragend und multidisziplinär. Jüngstes Beispiel ist das 2013 gegründete Max Planck-Hebrew University Center for Sensory Processing of the Brain in Action. Die engen wissenschaftlichen Beziehungen haben auch zu europäisch geförderten gemeinsamen Projekten geführt. Die Institute der MPG nutzen ferner sehr erfolgreich die Fördermöglichkeiten der GIF oder DIP. Darüber hinaus ist die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft die alleinige Gesellschafterin der Minerva Stiftung GmbH.

 

Zusatzinformationen

English version of this page
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/1531.php)

Reden

Publikationen

  • Deutschland - Israel ID = 564

    Titelbild der Publikation

    Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft, Technik und Bildung - 4. überarbeitete Auflage -

    2012, 84 Seiten
    Bestell-Nr.: 29986

    Kostenlos bestellen

    Download [PDF - 3,45 MB] (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/pub/zusammenarbeit_wtb_deutschland-israel.pdf)

  • Germany - Israel ID = 565

    Titelbild der Publikation

    Science and Technology, Education and Research

    2012, 84 Seiten
    Bestell-Nr.: 29989

    Kostenlos bestellen

    Download [PDF - 3,35 MB] (URL: http://www.bmbf.de/pub/cooperation_ste_germany-israel.pdf)

Hier finden Sie die lieferbaren Materialien.
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/publikationen/)

Ansprechpartner

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) - PT Internationales Büro

    • Israel
    • Dr. Ralf Hermann
    • Heinrich-Konen-Straße 1
    • 53227 Bonn-Oberkassel
    • Telefonnummer: 0228/ 3821-1459
    • Faxnummer: 0228/ 3821-1400
    • E-Mail-Adresse: Ralf.Hermann@dlr.de
    • Homepage: http:\\www.internationales-buero.de
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) - PT Internationales Büro -

    • Frankeich, Israel, Österreich, Portugal, Spanien
    • Ivika Laev
    • Heinrich-Konen-Str. 1
    • 53227 Bonn-Oberkassel
    • Telefonnummer: 0228/ 3821-1418
    • Faxnummer: 0228/ 3821-1444
    • E-Mail-Adresse: Ivika.LAev@dlr.de
    • Homepage: http://www.internationales-buero.de
  • Pressereferat des BMBF

    • Hannoversche Straße 28-30
    • 10115 Berlin
    • Telefonnummer: 030 / 1857 - 5050
    • Faxnummer: 030 / 1857 - 5551
    • E-Mail-Adresse: presse@bmbf.bund.de
 

© 2014 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung