Navigation area


Academia
young people sitting on stairs

Quality Pact for Teaching - championing ideal study conditions

The Quality Pact for Teaching of the Federal Government and the Länder has introduced two rounds of funding to ensure widely effective and regionally balanced support for good study conditions at German institutions of higher education. The Federal Government has earmarked about 2 billion euros for this campaign from 2011 to 2020 - a sign of a commitment to higher education teaching heretofore unknown in the history of German higher education policy. A total of 186 institutions of higher education in all 16 Länder will benefit from this funding: 78 universities, 78 universities of applied sciences and 30 art and music colleges.

More information about the funding programme and all of the funded projects is now available at

www.qualitaetspakt-lehre.de.

Broad range of funding options for institutions of higher education

The Quality Pact for Teaching offers institutions of higher education a broad spectrum of effective support in improving the conditions of study and teaching quality which is tailored to specific local needs. The basis for the Quality Pact for Teaching (in German only) is a joint agreement between the heads of government of the Federal Government and the Länder, which was adopted on 10 June 2010. The Federal Government is providing roughly 2 billion euros up until 2020 for better study conditions at German institutions of higher education. More than 90 per cent of the institutions eligible for funding made either individual or joint applications for funding. Two rounds of selection in a quality-controlled procedure identified the most convincing schemes for high-quality study and teaching. The selection was made by a committee made up of experts in higher education, students and representatives of the government at federal and Länder level.

The pact funds a broad spectrum of measures:

The focus of many applications was firstly to increase staffing at institutions of higher education at all levels - from professorships to junior academic staff through to tutors. The Länder must ensure that this does not affect capacity and that the student-to-staff ratio at institutions of higher education is actually improved.  

Secondly, funding was sought for measures to qualify staff in higher education in the areas of teaching, mentoring and advisory services. The measures are aimed at both young teaching staff at the beginning of their careers and experienced teachers in higher education.

Thirdly, funding is meant to give fresh impetus to the further development of teaching quality and to the professionalization of teaching. These developments include the institutions' own approaches to testing innovative teaching formats or collaboration on subject teaching or methods, for example in the areas of e-learning, engineering studies or medical training.

The stated aim of many of the institutions of higher education is to optimize the structure of the orientation phase and how to deal with the ever more diverse academic backgrounds that students have today.

Details on funding and the application procedure are laid down in the announcement of funding regulations by the BMBF.

186 institutions of higher education in all 16 Länder receiving funding

Since the 2011-2012 winter semester, there are now 111 institutions of higher education receiving federal support to improve conditions for study - from the research-intensive university that offers a full range of subjects to the university of applied sciences with a regional focus.

A second round of selection allocated funding to many additional institutions of higher education as of the summer semester 2012. The Quality Pact for Teaching is providing funding to a total of 186 institutions of higher education in all 16 Länder, or 77 per cent of all public institutions of higher education. This figure includes 78 universities, 78 universities of applied sciences, and 30 colleges of art and music.



Table: Distribution of institutions of higher education selected for funding (individual and joint applications), by Land and type - overall result

 Länder  Total number of funded institutions of higher education  Number of universities  Number of universities of applied sciences  Number of colleges of art and music
 BW  29  14*  12  3
 BY  28  9  14  5
 BE  10  3  3  4
 BB  9  3  5  1
 HB  3  1  1  1
 HH  5  3  1  1
 HE  8  5  2  1
 MV  4  2  2  0
 NI  17  9  6  2
 NW  27  11  12  4
 RP  6  3  3  0
 SL  3  1  1  1
 SN  13  5  5  3
 ST  7  2  4  1
 SH  8  3  3  2
 TH  9  4  4  1
 Total  186  78  78  30

* including 5 colleges of education



Funding is currently limited to a maximum of five years until 2016. A mid-term review will determine whether funding will be extended through the end of 2020.

The experts on the Selection Committee for the Quality Pact for Teaching:

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Ahn, Hochschule Wismar, University of Applied Sciences, Technology, Business and Design
  • Prof. Dr. Monika Bessenrodt-Weberpals, Hamburg University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Daniela Braun, Koblenz University of Applied Sciences
  • Yasmin Bushra, Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Karin Donhauser, Humboldt University, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Sigrid Harendza, Hamburg University
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, German Institute for International Educational Research
  • Prof. Dr. Sabina Jeschke, RWTH Aachen University
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Schubert-Zsilavecz, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
  • Daniela Teodorescu, Humboldt University, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Elke Wild, Bielefeld University
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Winter, Ludwig Maximilians University Munich

 

Additional information

Deutsche Version dieser Seite
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/15375.php)

 

© 10/31/2014 04:43 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Navigationsbereich


Wissenschaft

Qualitätspakt Lehre - Einsatz für optimale Studienbedingungen

In zwei Förderrunden sichert der Qualitätspakt Lehre von Bund und Ländern eine breit wirksame und regional ausgewogene Unterstützung für gute Studienbedingungen an den deutschen Hochschulen. Der Bund stellt hierfür im Zeitraum von 2011 bis 2020 insgesamt rund 2 Milliarden Euro zur Verfügung - ein in der Geschichte der deutschen Hochschulpolitik beispielloses Engagement für die Hochschullehre. Insgesamt 186 Hochschulen aus allen 16 Bundesländern profitieren von dieser Förderung, darunter 78 Universitäten, 78 Fachhochschulen und 30 Kunst- und Musikhochschulen.

Mehr Informationen zum Förderprogramm und zu allen geförderten Projekten gibt es ab sofort unter: www.qualitaetspakt-lehre.de.

Vielfältige Fördermöglichkeiten für die Hochschulen

Mit dem Qualitätspakt Lehre erhalten die Hochschulen eine breit wirksame Unterstützung zur Verbesserung von Studienbedingungen und Lehrqualität, die auf den spezifischen Bedarf vor Ort abgestimmt ist. Grundlage für den Qualitätspakt Lehre ist die gemeinsame Vereinbarung der Regierungschefs von Bund und Ländern, die am 10. Juni 2010 beschlossen wurde.

Rede des Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärs um Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Thomas Rachel MdB, anlässlich der BMBF-Programmkonferenz zum Qualitätspakt Lehre am 4. Juli 2013 in Berlin. Bis 2020 stellt die Bundesregierung rund 2 Milliarden Euro für bessere Studienbedingungen an den deutschen Hochschulen bereit. Über 90 Prozent der antragsberechtigten Hochschulen haben sich mit einem Einzel- oder Verbundantrag beteiligt. In einem qualitätsgeleiteten Auswahlverfahren mit zwei Auswahlrunden wurden aus den eingereichten Anträgen die überzeugendsten Konzepte für gute Lehre identifiziert. Die Auswahlentscheidungen wurden durch ein Gremium getroffen, dem in der Hochschullehre ausgewiesene Expertinnen und Experten, Studierende sowie Vertreter des Bundes und der Länderseite angehören.

Gefördert wird eine breite Palette von Maßnahmen:

Schwerpunkt vieler Anträge war erstens eine bessere Personalausstattung der Hochschulen auf allen Ebenen - vom Professor über den Mittelbau bis zum Tutor. Die Länder stellen sicher, dass dies kapazitätsneutral geschieht und damit tatsächlich zu einer Verbesserung der Betreuungssituation an den Hochschulen führt.

Zweitens werden Maßnahmen zur Qualifizierung des Hochschulpersonals für die Aufgaben in Lehre, Betreuung und Beratung gefördert. Dies zielt sowohl auf Nachwuchskräfte am Beginn ihrer Laufbahn als auch auf berufserfahrene Hochschullehrer.

Drittens sollen neue Impulse zur Weiterentwicklung der Lehrqualität und zur Professionalisierung der Lehre von der Förderung profitieren. Hierzu gehören sowohl hochschulinterne Ansätze etwa zur Erprobung innovativer Lehrformate als auch fach- oder methodenbezogene Verbünde z.B. in den Bereichen E-Learning, Ingenieurstudium oder Medizinausbildung.

Viele Hochschulen zielen mit ihrem Konzept auf eine optimierte Gestaltung der Studieneingangsphase und auf den Umgang mit immer vielfältigeren Startvoraussetzungen und Vorkenntnissen, die Studierende heute mitbringen.

 

186 geförderte Hochschulen aus allen 16 Bundesländern

Insgesamt erreicht die Förderung aus dem Qualitätspakt Lehre 186 Hochschulen in allen 16 Bundesländern, von der forschungsstarken Volluniversität bis zur regional orientierten Fachhochschule. Das sind 77 Prozent der staatlichen Hochschulen in Deutschland. Unter den geförderten Hochschulen sind 78 Universitäten, 78 Fachhochschulen sowie 30 Kunst- und Musikhochschulen.

Die Förderung läuft seit dem Wintersemester 2011/12 bzw. seit dem Sommersemester 2012 und ist zunächst auf maximal fünf Jahre bis 2016 befristet. Über eine mögliche Anschlussförderung bis Ende 2020 wird auf der Grundlage einer Zwischenbegutachtung entschieden. Eine 2013 gestartete programmbegleitende Evaluation wird die Wirkung des Förderprogramms auf Studienbedingungen und Lehrsituation bewerten. Zudem hat das BMBF im Herbst 2013 eine Förderbekanntmachung zur Begleitforschung veröffentlicht, um die Maßnahmen des Qualitätspakts Lehre auch aus einer wissenschaftlichen Perspektive zu erschließen.  


Tabelle: Verteilung der zur Förderung ausgewählten Hochschulen (Einzel- und Verbundanträge) auf Länder und Hochschularten - Gesamtergebnis

 Land Gesamtzahl
der geförderten
Hochschulen
     
   

 davon:  Universitäten

 davon: Fachhochschulen  davon: Kunst- und Musikhochschulen
 BW  29  14 1)  12  3
 BY  28  9  14  5
 BE  10  3  3  4
 BB   9  3  5  1
 HB   3  1  1  1
 HH   5  3  1  1
 HE   8  5  2  1
 MV   4  2  2  0
 NI  17  9  6  2
 NW  27  11  12  4
 RP   6  3  3  0
 SL   3  1  1  1
 SN  13  5  5  3
 ST   7  2  4  1
 SH   8  3  3  2
 TH   9  4  4  1
 Summe  186  78  78

30 

1)einschließlich 5 Pädagogische Hochschulen

 

Die Expertinnen und Experten im Auswahlgremium für den Qualitätspakt Lehre:

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Ahn, Hochschule Wismar
  • Prof. Dr. Monika Bessenrodt-Weberpals, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg 
  • Prof. Dr. Daniela Braun, Fachhochschule Koblenz 
  • Yasmin Bushra, Fachhochschule Frankfurt /M. 
  • Prof. Dr. Karin Donhauser, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin 
  • Prof. Dr. Sigrid Harendza, Universität Hamburg 
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, Deutsches Institut für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung 
  • Prof. Dr. Sabina Jeschke, Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen 
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Schubert-Zsilavecz, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt / M. 
  • Daniela Teodorescu, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin 
  • Prof. Dr. Elke Wild, Universität Bielefeld 
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Winter, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München



Zusatzinformationen

English version of this page
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/15375.php)

Qualitätspakt Lehre

Informationen aller teilnehmenden Hochschulen finden Sie hier
 

Reden

  • 04.07.2013

    BMBF-Programmkonferenz zum Qualitätspakt Lehre

    Rede des Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärs im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Thomas Rachel MdB, anlässlich der BMBF-Programmkonferenz zum Qualitätspakt Lehre am 4. Juli 2013 in Berlin

    Download

    [PDF - 222,0 kB]  barrierefrei

    [URL: /pub/reden/pstr_20130704.pdf]

Ansprechpartner

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

    • Projektträger des BMBF
    • Heinrich-Konen-Straße 1
    • 53227 Bonn
    • Telefonnummer: 0228 / 3821-1751
    • Faxnummer: 0228 / 3821-1752
    • E-Mail-Adresse: lehre@dlr.de
 

© 2014 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung