Navigation area


Federal Minister Dr. Annette Schavan

Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka

Federal Minister of Education and Research

Johanna Wanka has been Federal Minister of Education and Research and a member of the Government of Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel since February 2013. Previously, she was Minister of Science, Research and Culture of the state of Brandenburg for nine years from 2000 to 2009 and then Minister with the same portfolio in Lower Saxony from 2010 to 2013.

Johanna Wanka worked in research and higher education for many years. After she had been appointed Professor for Engineering Mathematics at Merseburg University of Applied Sciences in 1993, she was elected Rector in 1994, an office she held until 2000. She had received her doctorate (Dr. rer. nat.) in 1980 for her thesis entitled "Lösung von Kontakt- und Steuerproblemen mit potential-theoretischen Mitteln". She served as Vice-President of the Rectors' Conference in the state of Saxony-Anhalt from 1994 to 1998 and then as a member of the Standing Committee on Planning and Organization of the German Rectors' Conference (HRK) from 1998 to 2000. Johanna Wanka had begun her professional career as an academic associate at the Technical University of Merseburg in 1974 after studying mathematics at the University of Leipzig from 1970 to 1974. She had obtained her Abitur to complete her secondary education in Torgau in 1970.

Johanna Wanka has been politically active for many years. She was a founder member of New Forum in Merseburg in September 1989, and served as a member of Merseburg district assembly from 1990 to 1994. She joined the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU) in March 2001, and was elected to the parliament of the state of Brandenburg in 2004, where she served as Chairwoman of the CDU parliamentary group from 2009 to 2010. She was also Chairwoman of the party in Brandenburg from 2009 to 2010.

Johanna Wanka was born on April 1, 1951 in Rosenfeld (in what is now the state of Saxony). She is married with two children.

Additional information

Deutsche Version dieser Seite
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/de/555.php)

Contact Persons

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

    • Ministerbüro
    • Hannoversche Straße 28-30
    • 10115 Berlin
    • Telefonnummer: 030 / 1857-5003
    • Faxnummer: 030 / 1857-5500
    • E-Mail-Adresse: johanna.wanka@bmbf.bund.de
 

© 09/18/2014 04:32 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Navigationsbereich


Johanna Wanka

Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka

Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung


Seit Februar 2013 ist Johanna Wanka Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung und Mitglied der Bundesregierung von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel.  Neun Jahre lang, von 2000 bis 2009, war sie Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur in Brandenburg, von 2010 bis 2013 diente sie im gleichen Ressort als Ministerin in Niedersachsen.

Johanna Wanka wirkte viele Jahre in Forschung und Lehre. Von 1994 bis 2000 war sie gewählte Rektorin der Fachhochschule Merseburg, nachdem sie 1993 auf die Professur "Ingenieurmathematik" berufen worden war. Schon 1980 war Johanna Wanka zum Dr. rer. nat. promoviert worden mit dem Thema "Lösung von Kontakt- und Steuerproblemen mit potential-theoretischen Mitteln". Von 1994 bis 1998 war sie zudem Vizepräsidentin der Landesrektorenkonferenz in Sachsen-Anhalt und von 1998 bis 2000 Mitglied der Ständigen Kommission für Planung und Organisation der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK). Ihre Berufslaufbahn hatte Johanna Wanka 1974 als wissenschaftliche Assistentin an der Technischen Hochschule Merseburg begonnen. An der Universität Leipzig studierte sie von 1970 bis 1974 Mathematik. 1970 machte sie in Torgau Abitur.

Johanna Wanka ist seit vielen Jahren gesellschaftlich aktiv. Sie war von 2009 bis 2010 Vorsitzende der CDU-Fraktion im Landtag Brandenburg, dessen Mitglied sie schon 2004 geworden war. Von 1990 bis 1994 war sie Mitglied des Kreistages Merseburg. Johanna Wanka war im September 1989 Gründungsmitglied des "Neuen Forums" in Merseburg. In die CDU trat sie im März 2001 ein. Sie war von 2009 bis 2010 Vorsitzende der Partei in Brandenburg.
 
Geboren worden ist Johanna Wanka am 1. April 1951 in Rosenfeld (heute Sachsen). Sie ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.

Zusatzinformationen

English version of this page
(URL: http://www.bmbf.de/en/555.php)

Reden

  • 06.02.2014

    Religion und Dialog in modernen Gesellschaften

    Auftaktveranstaltung des Forschungsprojektes "Religion und Dialog in modernen Gesellschaften" der Akademie der Weltreligionen an der Universität Hamburg am 6. Februar 2014 in Hamburg

    Download

    [PDF - 55,8 kB]  barrierefrei

    [URL: /pub/reden/Rede-Wanka_Religion_und_Dialog_in_modernen_Gesellschaften.pdf]

Ansprechpartner

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

    • Ministerbüro
    • Hannoversche Straße 28-30
    • 10115 Berlin
    • Telefonnummer: 030 / 1857-5003
    • Faxnummer: 030 / 1857-5500
    • E-Mail-Adresse: johanna.wanka@bmbf.bund.de
 

© 2014 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung